Pyjamas, Spam and Black Beauty

Pyjamas and spam probably aren’t two things that Anna Sewell thought a review of Black Beauty would be accompanied by. But that’s how it is today, so there’s that. Firstly, pyjamas. I finally got some new pyjamas so that I can throw away my old, hair-dye stained ones. The new ones have pockets which is nothing short of marvellous. Beware: poor photograph quality ahead.

Secondly, spam. Sometimes I have a quick look in my spam folder to just have a giggle at some of the crazy comments that are in there. The following is an entry from yesterday and I think it might just be my favourite ever spam comment simply because of the poor English, the incredibly complimentary tone, and the bizarre reference to Lady Gaga.

“What I don’t realize is actually how you are not really much more well-liked than you may be right now. You’re very intelligent. You realize thus significantly relating to this subject, made me personally consider it from numerous varied angles. Its like men and women aren’t fascinated unless it’s one thing to accomplish with Lady gaga! Your own stuffs outstanding. Always maintain it up!”

Brilliant. Anyway onto the main purpose of this post, my book review.

Black Beauty by Anna Sewell.
Mini-synopsis:
Black Beauty is the autobiography of a horse (called Black Beauty, obviously), which follows Beauty’s life experiences from being a young colt, all the way through to his life as an elderly horse. It tells of the many different jobs and masters he has throughout his life, and the love and difficulties he experiences. We meet his friends, both horses and humans, and gain an insight into what life is like with humans for masters.
Things I liked: I loved how original an idea it was to write a story from the perspective of a horse. I initially thought that it might be a bit strange or cringey but actually it was done really well. It’s obvious that Anna Sewell knows a whole lot about horses because she writes about things that humans wouldn’t ordinarily consider. It was a really addictive read and since the chapters were so short it was so easy to just keep reading. I really wanted to know what was going to happen next, and the way it was written meant that anytime something happy or sad happened, I really felt like I empathised with Beauty. 
Things I didn’t like:
Well, I’m going to make an outlandish statement here and declare that there was nothing in this book that I didn’t enjoy. I’ve tried and tried to think of something that annoyed me or wasn’t quite right, but I’m coming up blank. This can only be a sign of how good the story is and how much I enjoyed it.
Favourite character: Jerry Barker.
Would I recommend it/read it again: Yes to both. If you haven’t read it, you must, it’s lovely.
Score: 10/10 (I know! I thought it deserved a 10 because I couldn’t think of anything I disliked.)

So there you have it, a rather short review of Black Beauty. I wonder if anything will join it in the 10/10 category?! I’m excited to find out. Have a lovely evening mes amis.

Say something about this

